Carl L. Bausch, Jr. (1915-1988) studied architecture at Princeton University and graduated with honors in 1939. After serving in the Army during World War II, he moved to Vermont in 1946 to take a teaching position at the Newton School in the town of Jamaica. It was at this time that he also began designing and building his first house, which remains standing today. While most of Bausch’s projects were in southern Vermont, he designed two houses for himself in northern Vermont - one in Shelburne and one in East Charlotte.
In the late 1960s, Bausch became frustrated with the architectural profession and the difficulty of getting a structure built to his specifications. After designing and building himself a new house in East Charlotte, Bausch left the field of architecture. He set up a woodworking shop at the new house and began a second career building lightweight wooden canoes, for which he became well known across the country. In 1978, his unique boat building skills were profiled in the New York Times. His widow Marion Bausch continues to live in the East Charlotte home.